About 20% of registered voters in Clinton went to the polls Tuesday


Unofficial election results show the two At-Large Clinton City Council seat were filled in Tuesday’s vote.  With five candidates vying for the two seats, there was a chance for a run-off.  Elections Commissioner Eric Van Lancker reported the formula based on turnout showed 1,680 votes were needed to be elected in the race.

Tom Determann with 2,126 or about 32 percent of the votes in the race was the top candidate and GrantWilke with 1,902 or 28-percent was second.  They gained election according to the preliminary reports.

Andy Sokolovich with 1,253 was third – incumbent Jennifer Graf with 867 was next and then and Andy Luett with  565


In the First Ward Race Julie Alesee with 448 or nearly 82 percent of the votes cast won the seat over Maggie Klaess with 100 votes


In the Third Ward it was Ed O’Neil with 596 votes or 61 percent of the votes in the district won over incumbent Bev Herman.


Lynn McGraw was unopposed for the Second Ward seat and had 690 votes.


Both ballot question had a majority of ‘no’ votes.  The question of re-allocating the local option sales tax had 2,147 no votes or about 60 percent while the yes vote total was 1,415.


The question for a capital program tax had 2,645 ‘no’ votes or about 74 percent with 921 ‘yes’ votes.


Elections Commissioner Van Lancker reported that the turnout in the City of Clinton was about 20-percent.


He said there turnout in Camanche was about 33-percent.  Those voter re-elected Kenneth Fahlbeck as mayor with 609 votes over Trevor Willis with 439.

Three council seats were on the ballot and unofficial results it appears Marvin Lind with 624 votes, William Wruck with 554 and Micheal McManus with 520 were elected.

Linda Kramer received 445 votes and Greg Nelson with 334 votes gained the seats.

Also seeking the seats were Charlie Blount with 305 votes, Gary Kampe with 172 and Lewis Creed with 70.