Citizens First Bank Makes Donation to Gateway After Prom


Citizens First Bank employees recently presented a donation to representatives of the Gateway After Prom committee.  Gateway After Prom is a safe and fun-filled annual event that extends the fun of area proms at Clinton, Fulton, Camanche, and Prince of Peace High Schools.  The committee is comprised of parents and volunteers who make the annual event possible.

Citizens First is a long-time contributor to the event, through a program called “Citizens First First Down,” that is hosted by local radio station KROS 105.9FM & 1340AM.    For every first down the Clinton River Kings achieve during the regular football season, Citizens First donates $5 to the after prom event.   This year, the contribution was $705, all of which helps to defray the costs of entertainment for the 400+ attendees at Gateway After Prom.  Gateway After Prom is a group effort, with parents from 4 schools (Camanche, Clinton, Fulton and Prince of Peace) coming together to organize an event that offers area high school students a fun place to gather after prom.

Parent and volunteer Janet Buer stated, “It’s a lot of fun for the students, and we work hard to provide entertainment options that the students will enjoy.  We are fortunate to have the support of local businesses, including Citizens First.”

Entertainment this year at Gateway After Prom will include: bingo, laser tag, inflatables, games, prizes, drawings and an appearance by nationally recognized mentalist and hypnotist Brian Imbus.   Escape rooms will be back again this year, they were a very popular addition to last year’s event.  Prizes will be awarded to teams with the shortest recorded time to escape.   After Prom will be held on May 11, 2019 from 11pm – 3am at Clinton High School.

Pictured above are representatives of Citizens First Bank, KROS Radio, the Gateway After Prom committee, and area students from Fulton, Clinton and Prince of Peace.  From left to right: Shelly Davies, Emily Qualman, Jenny McClary, Keith Hook, Andrew McClary, Janet Buer, Kathy Forrest, Emma Ludvigsen, Gary Determan, Jenna Clarke, Greg Farwell, Tasha Cody, Susie Vogel, Heather Farwell, and Evan Tiesman. 

About Dave Vickers

Dave has been News Director since 1983 and has been Station General Manager since 1999. Dave has also served on the Board of Directors of the Iowa Broadcast News Association and the Iowa Broadcast Association and has served on the Iowa Freedom of Information Council.
View all posts by Dave Vickers →